Hog hunting

The section for hunting, fishing, camping, hiking and all of our outdoor adventures. This section includes gardening and the harvesting of game and other edibles.
Mac66
Board Founder

Hog hunting

Post by Mac66 »

My son bought me a hog hunt for Christmas. Something I've never done before. Since we have a place at the Villages in florida he found a place outside of new smyrna beach. NSB is about a 1.5 hour drive away

The wife and I were getting off a cruise ship last Saturday in Miami so we drove up to the Villages and met my son and his wife who flew down at the house.

The hunt was scheduled for yesterday (Tuesday). We had to be at the place at 5:30 am so we left at 4. The guides took us out in jeeps and set us up in elevated blinds. My son's blind was a couple hundred yards away. There we waited until daylight. When it got light I noticed a feeder about 40 yards in front of the blind. Soon three pigs came out near the feeder. I picked the largest and put her (a sow) down with my Marlin 94 44 mag lever gun...headshot.

My wife and I had driven down to Florida 5 days before the cruise and brought the guns down. My son used his AR pistol in 300 black out.

Half an hour later I heard a shot. My son had taken a huge 200lb+ show. Mine weighed about 80. Pics when I get home of if I can figure out how to post them from my phone.

I really wasn't very prepared clothes wise. It was a chilly 57F that morning and I was under dressed. But overall it was a fun thing to do.

We went with www.westshoreoutfitters.com

Btw, I'll be in Florida until Saturday
David
Administrator

Re: Hog hunting

Post by David »

Sounds like a great way to end the cruise :)

How was the cruise?
A man cannot call himself peaceful if he is not capable of violence. If he's not capable of violence he isn't peaceful, he is harmless. There is a distinct difference.

Fate whispers to the warrior "You cannot weather this storm". The warrior replies, "I am the storm".
Mac66
Board Founder