Sleeping in the car

From clothing to man-made to commercial shelters.
Bob
Board Founder

Sleeping in the car

Post by Bob »

So, when I got to Ocala National Forest, it was dark, wet and slightly rainy. I knew that might be the case, as I thought if that happened, I would test out over-nighting IN the car5. i have never done this before.

First - the car: A 2014 Toyota Rav 4. So a 4 door Hybrid SUV with rear seats that fold down. Here is what I doid:

1. Folded down the larger half of the rear seats, placed object underneath to elevate a little.
2. Placed a sleeping bag down for padding
3. Placed second sleeping bag down to sleep in. Used my poncho blanket for a pillow.
- wore sweat pants/shirt, my usual camp pajamas.

Lessons learned

#1 The rear floor of the car is hard and uncomfortable. My shoulder hurt, my hips hurt, back generally uncomfortable, even though length was good.
During a mid-night pee break, I switched to a reclined front seat with a sleeping bag for a blanket. Much better!
- easy to on/off AC-Heat-Lights-Engine
- Places to put stuff

#2 Even a small ventilation crack in the windows made the car quite cold inside. That said, running the car for a few minutes warmed it up nicely. Engine off, a quick window up-down, and comfortably back to sleep. Rolled windows up after moving to front, kept AC outside circulation open. It was not too stuffy at all.

#3 I had things organized OK, but for future efforts, I will spend much more time putting gear in key places / thinking it out a little better. Again- this was an "impromtu trip.

* The key thing I think I would do to make this a "regular" sleeping quarters would be a small AC air pump and a small inflatable mattress. The AC pump is on my to get list anyway. Other than That I kind of liked it.
tom mac
Board Founder

Re: Sleeping in the car

Post by tom mac »

Use to do camping , esp with the MC trips...