10MM/45 Super

The section on firearms, knives, bows, improvised and other weaponry. Defensive tactics, self defense, martial arts. Home and personal security. Includes ballistics, modifications and maintenance.
David
Administrator

10MM/45 Super

Post by David »

Anyone have one/has had one? What kind and how did you like it?

Thinking about getting a Glock 21 and then the barrel/RSA/extractor to set it up as a G20 for a 2-in-1 platform. First, I've had G21's over the years and I like them. And of course the G21.3 was my duty pistol so I've been carrying them for 15+ years. I don't have any 45acp pistols anymore but thinking I'd like to get back into one so that I have access to the caliber. Thinking Glock 21.4 because I like the texturing and back straps.

Secondly, I've never owned a 10mm. Don't think I've ever shot one either come to think of it. I know it's more of a niche caliber but what the heck, be interesting to have access to one. So from what I've seen, a G21 to G20 conversion is pretty easy and simple whereas the reverse isn't.

Thoughts and experience welcome.
A man cannot call himself peaceful if he is not capable of violence. If he's not capable of violence he isn't peaceful, he is harmless. There is a distinct difference.

Fate whispers to the warrior "You cannot weather this storm". The warrior replies, "I am the storm".
JDH

Re: 10MM

Post by JDH »

Guessing you are talking about putting a conversion barrel in the 21 slide. If so it is not the route I would go. While it may work it will never be as reliable as it could be. Then there is the potential for confusion having a 10mm barrel in a slide marked 45.

If it were me I would obtain a 20 upper assembly. Aside from having a properly marked slide to change from one to the other is simply slide one off the frame, slide the other on. No muss, no fuss.