Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why do YOU workout?
Question 
Back when I was turning 40 my son, who was around six, walked into the bathroom where I was standing in my shorts and no shirt because I was shaving.  He stood there looking at me with a Batman action figure in his hands.  He looked at his action figure and then at me and then asked me why I didn't look like his action figure.  At that moment I took a long, hard look at myself in the mirror and realized I'd let myself go.  Well, that was all I needed to make a commitment.  I bought a Gold's Gym bench from Walmart, a 300lbs Olympic bar set from Sports Authority and I started lifting.  As time went on I got a piece of equipment here and there, mostly at garage sales.  I built up a decent gym in my garage with a power rack w/pulley system for rows and pull downs, bench that inclines, T-bar, hex bar for dead lifting, multiple bars and fairly close to 1000lbs of weights. 

Lifted with a strong commitment for over seven years and the goal was a natural body building competition.  Just to have done it.  Got hit with a heart problem and had to have surgery a couple of years ago.  That took a lot of the wind out of my sails.  Lifted a bit here and there since then but never was able to get my motivation back fully. 

Until now. 

Just turned 50 last month and I'm on vacation right now so I started the Gorilla workout which is an app you can download.   Mainly body weight stuff to get back into it.  Decided that 'Someday is not a day of the weekand decided to get my butt back out into the garage and get it done.  I know that being in good physical shape helps mentally as well.  It also helps cope with injury and illness so that goes into the 'prepper' mindset as well.  And of course my job can get quite physical in an instant.   I started a log here on the board to add motivation as well.
Governmental dependance makes for poor self reliance.