Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Considering a rifle...
Question 
I currently have several handguns and my 12g Mossberg 500P as well as a couple of Marlin M60's in 22LR.  I am considering getting a rifle to augment what I already have.  Now to be clear, I've got two instructor certifications for handguns and I'm a SG instructor.  But other than the .22 rifles I don't think I've shot a rifle since the military (M16) and that was back in the 80's.  And believe it or not, I've also used the M1 Garand.  We have rifles at work, but we don't use them in my Bureau as our primary is the 12g Remington 870. 

So I'm not sure what I'd like to get.  My brother has an AK47 that he speaks highly of and he gets a fair bit of use with it being way out in the country (rabid and nuisance animals).  An AR15 is an option I'm considering as well.  I also like the look of that VZ 2008 that I've seen online.  But I'm not married to anything in particular at the moment and I'm keeping my options open.  I'm not looking to break the bank and I don't need a gee-whiz-tacticool model.  Something reliable would be fine without all the frills. 

So if you've got something you'd like to toss out I'm all ears.  Thanks Smile
Governmental dependance makes for poor self reliance.

"What could possibly go wrong with a duct tape boat?"  Cody Lundin

The best defense against evil men are good men with violent skill sets.
I would also like to add that I'd like something that has easily available ammo that can be purchased at good/reasonable prices.  Thanks.

Look into a Savage 308. Good for hunting and protection.