Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hiking/Back Packing Stuff
First let me qualify my remarks to say that I am no expert.  

I did quite a bit of hiking and backpacking in the 1970s, 80s and 90s and then again when I went to Alaska in 2015.  Technology has changed a lot since the old days particularly in the weight of equipment.

My wife and I are doing some hiking in a few weeks at all the national parks in Hawaii. Will also be going down to Smokey Mountain NP to get some trail time in on the Appalachian Trail this summer before our Andes Mountain/Inca Trail BP trip in Sept.  May or may not also run out to Colorado to try and get some higher altitude hiking/BP in as well. Let me also qualify my remarks to say the we are in our early/mid 60s so what works for us may or may not work for you.

With most of our gear being decades old we have started to look, shop and buy new stuff.  I thought I would document what we are doing in case anyone else is interested.  I will likely break it down between old stuff and new stuff.

First up...

Hiking Shoes/boots...

Old-Back in the day people wore hiking boots which were usually above the ankle with sturdy leather uppers and thick, pretty rigid soles.  The pair I wore to Alaska were about 15 years old at the time and fit that description.  They were well worn and by the time I got back from Alaska were worn out and thrown away. I don't even remember what brand they were.   

New: Running shoe technology has taken over and light weight "trail runners" have replaced boots.  I was somewhat surprised that hikers and even backpackers wear mostly low top shoes these days and those are like running shoes.  Those in the know say every pound on your feet is like 6-8 pounds on your back when you are BPing so lighter is better.